

Wyre Borough Council
Date of Publication: 20 September 2017
Please ask for : Roy Saunders
Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager

Tel: 01253 887481

Dear Councillor,

You are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of Wyre Borough Council to be held at the Civic Centre, Breck Road, Poulton-le-Fylde on <u>Thursday, 28 September 2017</u> commencing at 7.00 pm.

Yours sincerely,

Garry Payne Chief Executive

COUNCIL AGENDA

1. Apologies for absence

2. Motion to remove the Leader of the Council

The following motion, supported by Councillors I Amos, R Amos, Lady Atkins, Ballard, Balmain, Berry, B Birch, C Birch, Bowen, Bridge, Catterall, Ellison, Greenough, Henderson, Hodgkinson, Holden, Ibison, Ingham, Kay, Moon, Murphy, Orme, Ormrod, Pimbley, Robinson, V Taylor, A Turner, S Turner, A Vincent, Matthew Vincent, Michael Vincent, Walmsley and Wilson, has been submitted in accordance with the notice requirements set out in paragraph 14 of the Council Procedure Rules in Part 4.01 of the Constitution.

"That Councillor Peter Gibson be removed from the office of Leader of the Council with immediate effect."

3. Appointment of an Interim Leader of the Council

The following motion, supported by Councillors I Amos, R Amos, Lady Atkins, Ballard, Balmain, Berry, B Birch, C Birch, Bowen, Bridge, Catterall, Ellison, Greenough, Henderson, Hodgkinson, Holden, Ibison, Ingham, Kay, Moon, Murphy, Orme, Ormrod, Pimbley, Robinson, V Taylor, A Turner,

S Turner, Matthew Vincent, Michael Vincent, Walmsley and Wilson, has been submitted in accordance with the notice requirements set out in paragraph 14 of the Council Procedure Rules in Part 4.01 of the Constitution.

- 1. That, if the proposal to remove Cllr Peter Gibson as Leader is approved, Cllr Alan Vincent be appointed as interim Leader of the Council until 7 December 2017 at the latest.
- 2. That, at the Council meeting on 7 December 2017 (or at an earlier extraordinary meeting of the Council convened for the purpose) a motion be submitted to dissolve the interim arrangement, remove Cllr Alan Vincent from the office of Leader of the Council and to appoint a Leader until the Annual Council meeting after the next election in May 2019.

(Note: If this motion is approved, Cllr Alan Vincent will inform the Council that, until a longer term Leader is appointed, the other members of the Cabinet will be Councillors Berry, Bowen, Henderson, Murphy, and V Taylor, that they will retain their former portfolio holder responsibilities and that Cllr A Vincent will himself undertake the responsibilities of the Resources Portfolio Holder. Cllr A Vincent will also inform Council who the designated Deputy Leader will be for the interim period.

No other business will be transacted at this meeting

If you have any enquiries on this agenda, please contact Roy Saunders, tel: 01253 887481, email: roy.saunders@wyre.gov.uk